Why I hate the term “Millennial”

Until the past few years, I hadn’t heard our generation referred to anything specifically, but then we grew into adults functioning in a society of GenX cynicists. The term “millennial” was coined and since then, all I have been hearing is that us millennials are lazy, entitled, and dependent on technology and our parents to get through life. The “real adults” paint a picture of us that looks sort of like this:

What specifically irks me about their “statistics” and word clouds and the like, is that I don’t identify with the vast majority of what they’re saying. Maybe that’s just the millennial in me speaking but one of the biggest words in their word clouds is spoiled. I’m paying my own tution, my own bills, I live in my own apartment. I own my phone because I was sick of the flip-phones my parents started us off with so instead of complaining about it and whining until I got what I wanted, like most of my friends and siblings’ friends, I decided to go out on my own and get an iPhone. I knew I wasn’t entitled to it, so I worked hard to get it myself. That’s far from spoiled. This is how us millennials are seen and portrayed. If you watch the video, I think you’ll see where I’m coming from.

I just personally feel like this isn’t true among the vast majority of us. I plan to work hard for the things I want. I’m sure the stereotype had to stem from someone or some group, but stereotypes are not all encompassing and I feel like they shouldn’t be seen as such.

I’m sick of hearing my dad rant about those damn millennials.

One thought on “Why I hate the term “Millennial”

Leave a Reply

